My Time at TKS

Roarke
2 min readJun 17, 2021

--

For the last ten months I have been a part of an olympic level learning accelerator program. Applying is one of the best choices I have ever made. We met every week for a few hours and talked about a mindset, worked on a new project in groups and learned new skills. This program has helped me grow into the person I am today.

TKS stands for The Knowledge Society. TKS has helped me learn how to make top notch presentations for anything in just a few hours. I can now write articles, research better, make pitch decks, and give pitches while also getting new mindsets that I use in my everyday life. Thanks to TKS I feel not just ready to go into the world but change the world. In my time in TKS I worked on quite a few projects. Specifically a project to get a covid tracking app to 50% usage, solving education issues in another country, creating a moonshot company pitch, i also did many hackathons on many problems. One of the most important things to me was the mindsets.

Each week we learned a new mindset that would help us in the world. We learned everything from antifragility to figuring it out to done>perfect. Some of the most important mindsets to me was celebrate others, unconventional thinking, boss mentality, authenticity, and done>prefect. Why? It is important to celebrate others because when someone you care about succeeds you should be there to cheer them on. Unconventional thinking will help you not just think outside of the box but break the box all together. Sometimes when you face an unconventional challenge you need to think unconventional. Boss Mentality will help you because if you believe in yourself and remind yourself you need to get it done it will help you. Authenticity is important because it will help you make things original and true to you. Done>perfect in my opinion is the most important mindsets out there. First get it done with work you are proud of then with all extra time make it better and better. This will give you the chance to think on how to improve it after you get it done.

In TKS you do focus. This is where you deep dive into a specific area of research in the world. I choose to focus on cancer and specifically Leukemia. If you are interested in reading my article on Leukemia you can access it here. (https://l-roarke-p16.medium.com/leukemia-what-is-it-bd35aa3face1)

TKS is one of the best decision I have ever made. I have learned more than I thought possible in the last ten months. Thank you to all of the directors and other students that helped me along the way. One of the best communities i have ver been apart of.

--

--

Roarke

Visually impaired 16-year-old running three non-profits