What I Learned After a Week of Football

Roarke
2 min readJul 2, 2021

--

For the past week I have been doing football practice/training with the team. I have learned some important lessons in my time on the team so far. In this article I am going to share what these lessons are and the importance of them.

Football is not a sport you can play on your own, you need to communicate with your team and work together. If you need help or need guidance then ask for help from people that might know how to do said thing. I needed help to get my stance for offensive line correct and I communicated that I needed some help to learn it. You need to be able to work with others and know that you can’t do it all on your own. You can’t make a play happen without creating an opening which requires the team to work together. You need to be able to work with others when needed to get work done. In football you need to have determination and grit. Grit is being able to push through and keep going after you have been knocked down. Having grit will help you keep going even when you need to adapt. Determination is needed so that you can focus on what you are trying to do and not over think about what needs to be done. You need to be able to adapt if the plan does not work out. In football the defense might move to the play you are running so you need to adapt to make the play happen.

I have been doing football for one week and these are just the first few things I have learned. There are many more mindsets in football than just these but these are very important. Thank you for reading this! Have a wonderful day!

--

--

Roarke

Visually impaired 16-year-old running three non-profits